Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for The Grand Turk Experience

The Grand Turk Experience

Board an air-conditioned coach at the cruise center and depart on a guided island drive. Leaving the cruise center, you’ll drive past the former United States Air Force facility where astronaut John Glen was debriefed after his historic space flight in 1962. Later, pass by a replica of John Glen’s Space Capsule, which stands at the entrance to the International Airport. Continue past Waterloo—built in 1815 and home to His Excellency the Governor, the representative of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. During the drive you’ll view several 18th-century churches, beautiful Bermudian-style buildings, salt salinas (remnants of the island’s former salt industry) and many wild horses and donkeys freely roaming the streets. Enjoy a 15-minute stop at Lighthouse Park to discover an old working lighthouse and the breathtaking views from the trails overlooking the turquoise seas and live reef below. You’ll also stop at the Grand Quay Salt Company, also known as the Salt House. Learn more about the island’s salt raking history, taste some traditional treats, and browse at the gift shop before heading back to port.
Average Customer Rating:
3.316 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
11 out of 19(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Grand Turk Experience
Review 1 for The Grand Turk Experience
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Short, but informative

Date:January 10, 2014
CruisersFour
Location:Mount Dora, Florida
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Since this is such a small island, I felt it was aninformative short tour. It was interesting to see how the people survive on this little island. The water and beach were beautiful, also the view from the top of higher points on the island was breath taking.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Grand Turk Experience
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Just a quick glance at the island

Date:April 2, 2012
Busylady
Location:Bonaire GA
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this little tour for what it was. We had never been there before so it was informative. I did not see any of the destruction mentioned in the 2010 reviews so apparently the people have done a pretty good job of cleaning things up. As to the gift shop, it was what it was. I don't go on vacation & these tours to be a shopper. If I find something unique, then ok. This is not a very big island so I did not expect anything grandiose.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+20points
24out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Grand Turk Experience
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Grand Turk Experience

Date:February 1, 2012
FrequentCruiser
Location:Vancouver B.C.
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
-A pleasant tour in air conditioned comfort which gave us a good overview of this little island. 5*
-The tour guide spoke good English, and was informative. 5*
-The salt gift shop/cafe was disappointing. 2*
-The lighthouse stop was average. 3*
-The John Glenn capsule was a joke. 1*
-The gift shops at the cruise terminal were good. 4*
-n.b. We think some fellow travellers expected more and didn't understand that this is just a small island with limited attractions. They should not have gone on the tour and would have been better off at the beach or in Jimmy Buffets bar.
-We enjoyed the tour and, overall, we give it four stars
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+37points
41out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Grand Turk Experience
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Bad tour

Date:January 29, 2012
Carny
Location:ARKANSAS
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tour was only one hour and we backed tracked about 15 minutes of that time. Salt house poor experience. Not worth the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Grand Turk Experience
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not much to see !

Date:December 19, 2011
newtosailing
Location:CA
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The ride was nice and the tour guide was very friendly and informative, but the bottom line was there just wasn't much to see and do. Not worth the money, and actually this is not a port I want to return to.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Grand Turk Experience
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great tour

Date:November 30, 2011
debartist
Location:Philadelphia PA
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great tour for those who can't do much walking. Our guide did a fantastic job with history of the island and pointing out places of interest. Just wish we could have spent more time at the lighthouse. We only had 15 minutes there. The gift shop they talk about was at the Salt House and not worth the stop. Cheap souveniers and a small cafe to get something to eat or drink.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Grand Turk Experience
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable short tour

Date:November 23, 2011
ProfMM
Location:Wisconsin
Cruise Date Year:2010
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a fairly thorough tour of this small island. The guide was knowledgeable and interesting. I do wish it had been slower, though. We seemed to rush past some intriguing-seeming sights.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Grand Turk Experience
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Uneventful

Date:April 25, 2011
Cooper5
Location:Calgary, Canada
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
This tour wasn't worth the money. The space capsule replica is about a 10 min (at most) walk from the port and is not worth the trek, it sits in the center of a round-about just outside the small airport. The view from the light house is nice but I would not call it breath taking and I'm not sure where the "trails" are that the article speaks of. You can walk out to a sandy ridge and look down at the ocean but not really any trials. You can not go in the light house and there is nothing else there, and as far as light houses go, nothing spectacular. It was interesting to read about the salt mines and learn about slave industry that was there but the house is nothing more then a store to buy souvenirs. Our guide was informative and we did see some old houses through the bus window, but I'd say take a $3 taxi to the one main street and walk all the historic houses have plaques on them with info. Then take a taxi to Govenor's beach and relax.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Grand Turk Experience
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2011
Renn
Location:Southern Illinois
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Just not worth the money. Tour bus was crowded and hot.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Grand Turk Experience
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice to see how such a small islands gets along

Date:April 14, 2011
Holland
Location:Holland
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
We likes the tour. The guide was informative and showed us around the island so that we could see what happens there, what de history of the place is and how people live. It is nice to see how such a small island survives huricanes and hords of tourists from ships. The saltmuseum is small but informative and you have also to look outside at the Mary Price monument and the old salt ponds (beautiful colour). But if you are not interested in a little culture and history, please stay on the beach and let other people enjoy tha tour. Near the cruiseterminal are shops, on the island you will hardly find them.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Grand Turk Experience
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

It is what it is

Date:February 28, 2011
AccidentalTourist
Location:WNY
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tour guide was informative and had a good sense of humor. The Salt Museum is pretty limited, and without being too harsh, you've seen one lighthouse you've seen them all. Given how nice the beach is, I'd say if the weather is conducive stay around the water and save your money.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Grand Turk Experience
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2011
chnc
Location:North Carolina
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Grand Turk Experience
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth the time

Date:February 10, 2011
Paradise
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The guide was very informative, and did not rush you at the stops.
Don't take the afternoon trip. It gets dark before you get back, and there is a bit of a rush to get back to the ship ontime.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Grand Turk Experience
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

poverty and depression

Date:December 21, 2010
MrObfuscation
Location:Saint Johns, FL
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a great tour if you wish to be depressed; you’ll see hundreds of occupied homes with missing roofs and walls that have not been repaired since the hurricane due to the island poverty. We saw herds of donkeys and packs of wild dogs roaming the island. Groups of unemployed residents could be spotted on many side street corners.
Being on a pleasure tour, this island should not be included as a cruise stop.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Grand Turk Experience
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Liked It!

Date:December 13, 2010
IrishEyes44
Location:Chicago
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great little tour of a place we knew nothing about. We all found it interesting and worth the time and money to get a little taste of Grand Turk!
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Grand Turk Experience
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Don't bother to get off the boat.

Date:December 12, 2010
BigDipper
Location:macedon, ny
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Grand Turk was a huge dissapointment. if you want to go on vacation to see people living in poverty, you don't have to go that far. Based on this tour only, I would recommend HAL consider eliminating this port altogether.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Grand Turk Experience
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great views of the island

Date:November 30, 2010
uncalum1
Location:Charlotte, NC
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our tour guide (Junior) was excellent and told us all about the history of Grand Turk island. We drove by many buildings re-built or re-roofed due to a fairly recent hurricane. Parts of the island were kind of in disarray due to the hurricane but that's not the tour's or the people's fault. After the tour, I definitely sensed how proud the islanders are of their home. The two stops were very educational -- one stop at Salt Houses and one stop at the old lighthouse. You can't go inside the lighthouse but you can see a beautiful view of the blue waters below the cliffs. There was time for shopping too.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Grand Turk Experience
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very interesting trip

Date:October 27, 2010
GrannyJ
Location:Hartland, Mi
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We enjoyed the drive around the island (12 passenger van) The guide was very good and told a lot about the island. Liked the stop at the Salt House.
There are beautiful beaches right at the pier where the ship docked.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Grand Turk Experience
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 0 out of 1
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5