Holland America Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rain Forest Canopy Zip Line & Aerial Tram Combination

Rain Forest Canopy Zip Line & Aerial Tram Combination

Experience the thrill of a canopy tour without missing out on the rain forest’s rich wildlife. The innovative Tranopy experience combines the in-depth forest view of an aerial tram with the excitement of a canopy tour. A professional naturalist guide will accompany you, pointing out some of the secrets of the primary and secondary rain forest that surrounds you. The Tranopy experience starts with a ride on the famous tram. You’ll experience all the different layers of the rain forest, from the floor up to the treetops, while on board a modified ski lift as you silently glide through the colorful, complex beauty of the rain forest canopy. The 30-minute tram ride will bring you through the forest, over tumbling cascades and to the beginning of the canopy portion of the adventure. Exploring the canopy is by way of ten zip line cables—five of which are more than 200 yards long (that’s two city blocks). The fifth cable is the longest, stretching an impressive 316 yards over the rain forest. To your right is the dense rain forest; to your left is a sweeping view of the valley all the way to the shimmering Pacific Ocean. All in all, almost a mile of cable will take you through rich rain forest ecosystems and sweeping views high above the forest floor. Your Tranopy guide is a tremendous asset here. While waiting on the platforms between cables, your guide will bring the forest to life before your eyes, offering you an expert naturalist’s perspective. Notes:Wear sunscreen and insect repellent. Wildlife sightings are likely but cannot be guaranteed. Minimum age is 8 years. Maximum weight is 350 lbs. Pregnant women and guests with injuries/seizure disorders are not allowed to participate. Comfortable clothing and closed-toe shoes are required. Full use of limbs required. Particpants must fit into harness and helmet in a safe manner.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rain Forest Canopy Zip Line & Aerial Tram Combination
Review 1 for Rain Forest Canopy Zip Line & Aerial Tram Combination
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Zip-a-dee Do It Time!

Date:April 19, 2014
Victoria
Location:Prescott, AZ
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WOW! What an experience for us “mature types”. This was so much fun – not to be missed. If you are going to only zip line once it HAS to be in Costa Rica. We did 10 lines and our guide, Roberto, was terrific. Take water – none was given until the 8th line. It was HOT that day (okay it’s probably always hot) and a few people had heat problems. They let you take a backpack or a bag that can be slung across you chest – put in a collapsible umbrella for some shade while you’re waiting your turn and water! Warning – there is quite a bit of downhill walking towards the end; very long expanses to get to the next line. It was a Tarzan time!! The aerial tram is a necessity to get to the top line, and if it was at a better part of the day we might have seen some birds. Nothing was in bloom. Oh, lunch was fair at best. So, enjoy the zip lines and go for it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rain Forest Canopy Zip Line & Aerial Tram Combination
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

DO IT

Date:February 25, 2014
haterain
Location:full time RV'er
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If your scared of hights do this, I am and almost 70 and had a ball. The crews makes it so much fun. One of the best tours I have ever taken
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rain Forest Canopy Zip Line & Aerial Tram Combination
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nothing to fear

Date:July 25, 2013
wkms54
Location:Sarnia, ON
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The people in charge of the zip lining take excellent care of everyone in their charge. The safety measures in place ensure a high level of enjoyment as you fly through the air. Our group included people of all ages and physical attributes. Just relax, lean back and go!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rain Forest Canopy Zip Line & Aerial Tram Combination
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great excersion for a beginning adventurer

Date:May 19, 2013
Meowy
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The trip starts with a 1 hour air conditioned bus ride to the aerial tram/rain forest. The tour guide was a naturalist. He educated guests about the flora and fauna, and animals of the region. On arrival guests are fitted in double safety harnesses. Educated on safety, how to turn on zip line, etc. Then one naturalist is assigned to every 6 guests for the aerial tram ride. Naturalists pointed out birds, plants, etc on the ride and answered questions guests had. The aerial tram is open but it does have a canvas top to provide some cover from the sun. After the trip up the aerial tram guests were guided thru 10 zip-lines. The staff always thought of guests safety. They were also friendly and gave encouragement to all us 1st timers as well. It's important to note that between the last few ziplines there are many dirt/wood stairs to descend. This is a 3+ walker activity level. You can bring a camera to use during zip-lining but a small camera would be preferable. On the last zipline staff will take your photo as you glide in. You can purchase them for $20-25 with the money going to help run the facility. After the zip-line you have a meal (chicken, veggies, fruit, and drink). There are then walking tours that you can participate in to see the grounds guided by the naturalists. There is a small gift shop where you can purchase souvenirs. Then it's back to the bus for the ride home.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rain Forest Canopy Zip Line & Aerial Tram Combination
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rainforest Canopy Zipline and Aerial Tram Combinat

Date:May 23, 2012
jrrcwb
Location:Corpus Christi
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I really enjoyed our zipline adventure. The rides on the zipline were great, and we felt very safe. The guides were very knowledgeable and helpful. One lady did not make it to the end station, but the guides were out to help her within seconds. The two separate cables and three latches made us feel very secure. This was a great shore excursion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rain Forest Canopy Zip Line & Aerial Tram Combination
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow!

Date:April 22, 2012
SmIsler
Location:Calgary
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had never zip lined before but after reading about this excursion we had to try it out. It was GREAT!
If you are concerned about bringing your camera, its okay provided it will not interfere with the harness gear.
The operators do take a photo at the end of the final zip line which you can purchase later. BRING CASH OR CREDIT CARD WITH YOU.
An excellent lunch is provided and then we were given a tour around the gardens that included the snake enclosures.
Very knowledgeable and safety conscious staff.
Be sure to wear close toed shoes and full length pants or shorts that reach the knees.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rain Forest Canopy Zip Line & Aerial Tram Combination
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best views ever!

Date:April 5, 2012
tribalmama
Location:Oregon
Cruise Date Year:2010
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Some of the best times I had on this cruise were on excursions, and this was a real highlight! I was a little worried about the height, but decided to brave out this family activity. So glad I did! Beautiful views, exciting activity, really friendly staff, good food.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rain Forest Canopy Zip Line & Aerial Tram Combination
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Rides

Date:March 10, 2012
Greenspeed
Location:Columbus Ms
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
This zip line has wonderful long rides. There were ten rides total. Make sure to take your camera you can secure it to the harness so it will be safe. Take pictures while you ride. The guides were great and safety in paramont. You will have a fantastic time. Same company as in St. Lucas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rain Forest Canopy Zip Line & Aerial Tram Combination
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Time

Date:January 29, 2012
Sputnik
Location:Camas, WA
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:January
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was great fun. When we arrived, the power was out, but they had a generator going and they seemed to take it in stride. The guides were cheerful and knowledgeable. The safety equipment and the instructions were good. I thought I would have a hard time doing this being way up high, but I had no problems.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rain Forest Canopy Zip Line & Aerial Tram Combination
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hooked on Zip Lining

Date:January 5, 2012
love2cruise
Location:Peachland, BC
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:December
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had never zip lined before but after reading about this excursion we figured this was the place to try it out. Go for it!! You will not be disappointed! The company that operates this tour is top notch. Upon arrival you are taken to an area where you are fitted with your gear. I thought the mosquitos, etc. would be plentiful but there were none (and they love me). You are able to leave your backpack onboard the bus if you choose. If you are concerned about bringing your camera along, you are able to have it around your neck or on your wrist. First, onto the Tranopy with our guide who pointed out items of interest including the toucans we saw. Then the zip lines! So much fun and what a view! There is some down hill walking and steps between lines if this is a concern. We were given a bottle of water between the first few lines. After the zip lines we walked over to the restaurant on the premises and had a wonderful lunch of chicken, vegetables, salads and dessert. Beer was available for purchase. The facilities are very clean. We also were given a tour around the gardens that included the snake enclosures. Once again very knowledgable staff. Be sure to wear close toed shoes and leave your short-shorts on the ship for this excursion :0
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rain Forest Canopy Zip Line & Aerial Tram Combination
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Excursion

Date:May 2, 2011
KayAnn
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I both really enjoyed this excursion. Had a great time! If you decide to do this, be sure to drink plenty of water before and during the activity. Would love to do it again.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rain Forest Canopy Zip Line & Aerial Tram Combination
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Experience

Date:February 22, 2011
SeaLover1
Location:Roseneath, Ontario
Cruise Date Month:February
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Guide in our Tram was very knowledgeable about the trees, flowers, butterflies, and birds we saw on the way up. The guides that hooked you up to the Zip Lines were great and knew what they were doing. You started on short zip lines to get used to it and then they started to get longer. It was an amazing experience. There was a bit of a walk of about 200 yards downhill between 2 of the zip line platforms. You might want to bring a change of clothes in case it rains while you are there ( you can keep them on the bus or there are lockers available). Had a great time.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.