Holland America Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for White Villages & Countryside

White Villages & Countryside

Drive through Cádiz and take in the most important monuments and places of the city, which your guide will point out. At the beautiful village of Vejer de la Frontera, you’ll have some time to explore on foot the hilly cobblestone streets, hidden patios and typical houses. Free time will be allocated so you can shop for souvenirs or try some of the local specialties (at your own expense). Re-boarding the coach, you will take the scenic Atlantic Route, packed with stunning countryside scenery, passing by the La Brena Nature Park, a protected pine forest that offers impressive views from its cliff tops up to 300 feet tall. Time and traffic permitting, you’ll stop for photos at Trafalgar Cape lighthouse, where the famous and infamous Battle of Trafalgar took place in 1805. The Franco-Spanish troops fought against the English side led by Lord Horatio Nelson in an encounter that ended in English victory and the death of hundreds of soldiers. This route leads to Conil de la Frontera—a city between forests of pine groves and the sea. It is a typical Andalusian town where Arabian influence is evident in the narrow streets and low white houses. Its courtyards and small squares attract legions of visitors who come to enjoy the beaches and the surf of Cabo Roche, and to taste local specialties such as the pescaito. Enjoy some free time there before you drive back to Cádiz and the ship.
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for White Villages & Countryside
Review 1 for White Villages & Countryside
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worthwhile

Date:November 27, 2013
ungawah
Location:Fla.
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Our guide, a German woman, was very knowledgeable on the sites and their history. Not terribly exciting stops, but our guide made things interesting. Since it was at the end of the season, Conil was pretty much shutdown.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for White Villages & Countryside
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2013
allen
Location:Dallas
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Guide's English was very poor and difficult to understand. She rambled on and often did not answer questions. We did not stop at the Trafalgar Lighthouse which was the main reason many of us booked this tour. Last stop was at a tiny beach town where the only businesses open were restaurants. Waste of time and money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for White Villages & Countryside
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

White Villages & Countryside

Date:July 1, 2013
happycruisers
Location:Richmond Va
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely knowledgeable guide who kept track of all the participants. He was very friendly and helpful. The white village tour with all the beautiful vistas was very rewarding, as was the time spent at the seaside village. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour and the opportunity to visit the countryside of Spain.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for White Villages & Countryside
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good tour but needs a shopping/eating option

Date:May 29, 2013
pldrcy
Location:Omaha, NE
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a beautiful village and an excellent excursion. The white village doesn't have much for shopping and there wasn't much time for it. There was time for shopping in the typical Andalusian town, but not too much. Why is it all the tours rush back to the ship so soon!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for White Villages & Countryside
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worthwhile

Date:April 11, 2013
Araho
Location:Maryland
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:March
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We enjoyed the services of an excellent guide for our visit to Vejer. The village is a beautiful medieval hilltop town and I am sure that we covered every inch of it - with an excellent running commentary from our knowledgeable guide. You will have many great photo opportunities. DO NOT take this tour if you have walking difficulties or lack the stamina for a hilly walking tour. The Conil second part of the tour was a washout - literally. We had a downpour which limited our visit to Cape Trafalgar and Conil. You will return to Cadiz in plenty of time to walk around in a truly great city to visit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for White Villages & Countryside
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good tour of the white villages.

Date:March 3, 2013
Eugen
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:November
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Enjoyed it?
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our guide spoke excellent English and provided a good tour in a good coach. The drive through tour of Cadiz was much more extensive than I had expected. I was excited to see storks nesting on power pylons on the drive to Vejer de la Frontera, a charming white village. The town would be dazzling in sunshine, we had overcast skies. Architecture was interesting, I especially enjoyed the squares, the Jewish quarter, and tiled courtyards. Everything was closed on Sunday to the disappointment of the shoppers.
After hearing about the battle for years, the photo stop at Cape Trafalgar was worthwhile, although the scenery is nothing special here. We spent our free time at Conil de la Frontera enjoying a tea and beer at an outside table after visiting a small museum. All in all a good tour.
I don't recommend anything to friends.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for White Villages & Countryside
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

White Villages

Date:November 4, 2012
cruiseaddict
Location:Florida
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We loved this visit to Vejer de la Frontera in the morning. Our guide gave us one hour to tour on our own or follow her. We chose to follow her, so didn't have time to visit the lovely stores. When we got to Conil de Frontera, we were given 1 1/2 hours on our own, but by this time it was siesta time and all the stores were closed. This was very disappointing. While we liked the white villages, we found out later that Cadiz has a very friendly visitor center with 3 city walking tours marked out with colored lines from the center. I would be torn between taking this excursion as it is currently conducted and doing my own walking tour at much less expense.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for White Villages & Countryside
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cadiz and area

Date:October 5, 2012
VancouverIslander
Location:Vancouver Island
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:September
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic. Cadiz is a wonderful city with a mix of old an new. The old town can be circumnavigated by foot and I did that. Great plaza in the centre that folks need to find. The trip to Vejer was an even bigger highlight. I would return there in a heartbeat. A gorgeous location. So easy to get lost in this hilltown.....and I mean easy. The visit to Cornil was nice and the beer was perfect. A stop at the site of the Battle of Trafalgar was nice if not all too short. You cannot go wrong with this tour.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for White Villages & Countryside
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful tour of the White Villages & Countryside

Date:September 17, 2011
designincozumel
Location:Cozumel, Mexico
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tour was wonderful and an excellent value,even though like most things that are great, I just remember the experience and not how much I paid for it. But like almost all Holland America tours I have taken, it was a very fair price. We started out in Vejer de la Frontera on a Sunday morning while the world slept. Men walked by with loaves of bread and people chatted from window boxes to the street. It is a charming town, beautiful and the Cathedral was very old and lovely. We saw a famous lighthouse and then on to the beach for an hour. The town of Cadiz is gorgeous and you get to see a lot of it on the bus ride out and back. Made for a super pleasant Sunday. Highly recommended.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for White Villages & Countryside
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Vejer de la Frontera was a Hit

Date:June 21, 2011
Genevieveforfun
Location:Canada
Cruise Date Month:April
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Vejer de la Frontera was by far the best part of the day for us and the visit to this beautiful spot made this excursion worthwhile. We wished we had more time there. The lighthouse stop could be skipped in my opinion, and Conil de la Frontera just felt too touristy.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for White Villages & Countryside
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

White Villages

Date:November 30, 2010
CraigP
Location:Washington, DC
Cruise Date Month:October
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
White villages was beautiful, perched high on a hill. Got down to beach on this tour also.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.