Holland America Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Holland America
Shop Juneau, Alaska, US or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter

Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter

This truly Alaskan adventure offers the rare opportunity to mush your own dog sled team across a snow-covered glacier. Learn the tricks of the trade from seasoned veterans of the legendary Alaskan Iditarod Sled Dog Race. Master the all-important commands of Hike!, Gee! and Haw! Experience the unique thrill of zipping across a pristine glacier with a team of friendly huskies while enjoying the fresh mountain air and scenic vistas. This exclusive dog sled camp is located on the picturesque middle branch of the Norris Glacier. On your way there, you will be amazed by a beautiful heli-flightseeing trip over the vast Juneau Icefield. Keep an eye out for the largest glacier on the Icefield—the advancing Taku Glacier. View spectacular icefalls, rock formations, and untamed wilderness. Accessible only by air, this region is filled with lush forests, glassy alpine lakes, jagged mountain peaks, and awe-inspiring glaciers. Enjoy approximately 30 to 35 minutes of helicopter time and one hour at the dog base.Notes:A veteran dog sled musher will lead you on your sled adventure. Overboots provided for glacier landings. Minimum age is 2 years. All guests are required to weigh-in at the heliport. Guests weighing 250 lbs or more will pay an additional surcharge over the published fare. No bags are allowed due to security considerations. The tour operator will endeavor to be discreet during this process but please be aware that individual circumstances may not allow for complete privacy. Not suitable for wheelchairs. Tour operates subject to meeting a minimum number of participants.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 21(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Review 1 for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dog sledding

Date:June 27, 2014
sandyw
Location:ohio
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic ! Worth every penny ! If you choose only one excursion, this should be it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2014
cruisepot
Location:Victoria Australia
Cruise Date Year:2014
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date of tour May 20014. Weather very good and helicopter landing zone had received 8 inches of snow the night before so the area was pristine.
The quietness of the area (when the dogs were not barking) and the scenery was just breathtaking. Note the dogs do not bark at all when they are pulling the sled. Everyone had a turn of driving even my wife who has two hip implants. For information we are a couple in our late 60's and experienced no difficulties with either the helicopter ride on walking/sledding on the glacier
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun and educational

Date:July 26, 2013
husker
Location:Nebraska
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What fun! Our helicopter pilot was Dawn-she did a great job describing the areas we were flying over. Taku glacier is amazing. Landing on Norris glacier was surreal. The dogs were so excited to see us. It was a gorgeous sunny day, The glacier boots are a must. The sled ride was fun as a passenger and as the musher, the dogs are so sweet. Loved this excursion. My favorite.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dog Sleding

Date:July 15, 2013
gizabs
Location:Indiana
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our Pilot for the ride to the glacier was Nick. A great flight to and from. He made us all feel very comfortable. Words cant discribe the view getting to the camp. Once there the staff meet us with rain gear and mittens. Our musher was great. She explained the process and off we went. Those dog really enjoy this. A must trip for anyone who loves animals. The scenery is breathtaking.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2013
Ralph
Location:Edmonton, AB
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic!! My first helicopter ride, what a thrill. ...................views were awesome. The dogsledding was good, but we didn't get chance to direct the dogs . Had fun meeting the dogs after the ride.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow!h

Date:July 5, 2013
Jason
Location:Virginia
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This excursion was absolutely amazing. Helicopter ride plus dog sledding on a glacier - how many chances do you get to do that?? The helo ride was great - friendly staff and pilot, fantastic scenery coming over the mountain to the glacier. We arrived at the dog camp to the owner standing there in a Hawaiian t-shirt and shorts (it was a bit warmer than expected). The sled ride was pretty cool, though perhaps a bit brief. While a little spendy...this excursion was one of the highlights of our trip and we would not have changed a thing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2013
Fromdownunder
Location:Austrlaia
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the highlight of our trip and would recommend passing on other excursions if you think it is a little expensive. The staff are totally professional and friendly. This is was an awesome experience, right up there on any bucket list. Thank you to all staff at Alaska Heli-Mush Inc. for a lifetime memory.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dog Sledding- Skagway

Date:June 22, 2013
ronda
Location:New York
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
A MUST DO - spend the money and do this excursion! Cameron our pilot was great - helicopter ride was smooth and beautiful. Then came the glacier landing! There we stood, high atop and in the mountain range with the most magnificent panoramic view that most people are not fortunate to ever see! it was breathtaking and magical! Then we met Dave who trains the huskies, 170 of them, we took a 2 mile ride with them....each of our family of 4 people got to be in every position the sled offered. Then we got to pet and love the dogs up for about 10 - 15 minutes...Thank you Sandy, Panda, Happy, Yucky and the other dogs! You were sooo sweet!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2013
Sailing
Location:Dauphin, PA
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OMG......what an experience. This is an expensive excursion but well worth the money. What a thrill to ride in the helicopter over the glacier and arrive at "Dog Camp". A chance of a lifetime to enjoy. This was our favorite excurison on the cruise.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the best excursion I have ever taken

Date:May 19, 2013
Huntress
Location:Houston, Texas
Cruise Date Year:2013
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an experience of a lifetime. We went for a 2 mile mush on the glacier and learned how to drive the sled. What an experience. A must on any Alaskan cruise.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a must excursion - Dogs and Helicopter

Date:August 19, 2012
Twilightgirl
Location:NY
Cruise Date Year:2012
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the highlight of my cruise excursion. After the awesome helicopter ride which was just beautiful (our cruise had sun the entire week), so we able to see the beauty of Juneau Alaska. The mountains so mighty are mind blowing. When we landed, we were greeted by the most precious dogs who just wanted to do what they love to do. Our guide was most pleasant and explained the process to us and the love and respect he has for his dogs. The ride was exciting, but more important, it allowed us time to go to a place when life was a bit more simple and fun, and to realize this is a practice that people still use today. I highly recommend this it was just awesome.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helicopter/Dog Sled/Glacier

Date:July 11, 2011
CMac
Location:Texas
Cruise Date Year:2011
Cruise Date Month:July
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fabulous Trip! When you come up over the mountain and see the dog camp show up out of no where its incrediable. They had 171 dogs all eager to take you out on the sled; they love what they do. My kids age 7 & 11 were able to take a turn just like the adults with guiding the dogs on the sled. It was a terrific time for my whole family from beginning to end. We want to do this again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
22out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth the Money

Date:June 24, 2011
Chloe185
Location:Maryland
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wish I could have spent more time at the mushing camp. The dogs were fantastic and the experience in riding on the back of a sled is unforgettable. Be sure and ask your musher to take pictures of you and the dogs!
Could have spent the entire day just hanging out with those four-legged amazing animals.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
19out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dog Sled & Glacier Adventure by Helicopter

Date:June 20, 2011
JohnA
Location:San Diego
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FANTASTIC! Not cheap but worth it! This for us was our trip highlight. Don't go on the dog mushing on wheels. Everyone disappointed and wished they had done ours. The helicopter is not just transportation up the glacier, it is awesome. Landing at the camp was beyond words. We happen to have had very unusual great weather, sunshine, 70's. Shirt sleeve day! The photos we have will remind us for a lifetime of this great experience. It's on the Taku glacier, forget about the Mendenhall, this is larger and you fly all the way up it. We were on 1000' of ice covered by 17' of snow. We needed boots and we sunk in the snow over our ankles. Just do it if you can afford it. Actually, cancel something else and just do it.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
29out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mush!

Date:June 20, 2011
Okiejayhawk
Location:Tulsa, OK
Cruise Date Month:June
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were so excited to do this. We had tried on a different cruise but got socked out by weather. We were flown by heli up to the glacier -- that flight alone was worth it all. BEAUTIFUL with great narration by our cool pilot Jen. The dog camp was fun to explore and then we got to sled. Sitting behind the dogs running gave me a new appreciation for those who do the Iditarod. Then when I got to drive the dogs I was even more impressed! We were fortunate to have a wonderful young guide, Jessica, who has won the Jr. Iditarod. She was so informative. Although the sledding is just a 2 mile course around the glacier one truly gets the feel of it. WARNING: Take your sunglasses!! It's bright on the glacier and although they had sunglasses one could borrow, your own probably fit better. Dress warmly.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-17points
23out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW!!! "Don't miss" - worth every cent!

Date:June 13, 2011
Lauraandlauren
Location:Huntington Beach, California
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This excursion was the absolute highlight of our Alaska adventure! First, the views and the whole experience of the helicopter ride over Juneau and glaciers is magnificent ... you feel safe and thrilled at the same time. Once you get to the camp, it's a glimpse of a whole different life. These folks have huge passion for the dogs, the race, the whole enchilada. One on one with the dogs was wonderful -- and the people running it were top notch. Helping drive the team was great fun. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience all around, and highly recommend it to all -- even those who are not terribly athletic. This should have been on our bucket list -- it's that cool. Don't hesitate to spend on this excursion ... well worth it!
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not disappointed!

Date:June 5, 2011
BusyEddy
Location:Washington
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although expensive, we received a lot back from what we paid for.
The trip was well planned and carried out. It appeared to be the joint effort of 2 companies. The helicopter company takes care of the transportation while the sled people run the dog camp.
We were greeted and picked up right on time and on the spot. The bus driver and bus attendant were friendly and informative. After about a 10 minute bus ride, we arrived at the helicopter pad where we received glacier boots and life vests. Nice people helped us to wear them. Then we headed out to the helicopter with the pilot. Seats were assigned but rotated on the way back so that everyone would have a chance to sit at a window seat. The helicopter looked like in great shape. The pilot was courteous, knowledgeable, and informative. He explained a lot about the landscape while flying. The aerial view was incredible. We were also able to communicate with the pilot by headphones.
As we smoothly landed right outside the dog camp, the camp people took it over. We learned how to mush. But it’s ok if one just wants to take a ride. As we were preparing, the dogs got louder and louder with excitement. On the path of the mush, we had great flexibility to stop anytime, switch positions of mushing and riding, taking pictures, or just to take a break. Patting the dogs afterward was also fun.
On the way back, there was more scenic views of ice fields, glacial, ice fall, and much more. The pilot kept us informed at all times.
Although the whole trip was just around 2.5 hours, it felt like we have done and learned a lot. We truly enjoyed this excursion.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helicopter & Dog Sled

Date:May 29, 2011
LadyCruiser
Location:Merritt Island, Florida
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The whole experience was fantastic! The flight over the mountains and glaciers was breathtaking! The dog camp was immaculate and the dogs were quite excited when we landed. It was only the 2nd cruise of the season for the Westerdam. We were surprised at how fast the dogs can get the sleds moving. Loved the dogs. Could only pet them after the run as they are too excited before hand. Musher was very good at explaining everything about sledding and the dogs and training. Sorry to see it end. Would recommend this highly. Worth the price.
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great experience!

Date:May 26, 2011
debbiemc
Location:Tingha, NSW Australia
Cruise Date Month:May
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We did this trip with a couple of friends and have to say the experience was absolutely wonderful. Probably more than expected and to experience the glacier with the dogs and see dog camp up close and personal really shows the best of the animals and their people.
A day well enjoyed and still talking about it!
Cruise Date Year:2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dog Sledding Adventure by Helicopter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best excrusion for animal lovers

Date:December 9, 2010
Hemi
Location:La Sarre, Quebec, CANADA
Cruise Date Month:August
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Enjoyed it?
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the best excursion we experienced on our trip. We love dogs and beeing able to live this experience with a dozen dogs in such a nice place was magic.
The personnel is very professionnal. The pilot was a real entertainer and the musher was eager to pass her knowledge to us.
The dogs were very excited before the ride, but after we could pet them safely. It's interesting to see of each one has is own way.
This excursion is an absolute must.
Cruise Date Year:2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-11points
20out of 51found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>